Tuesday, December 06, 2016
See the following sections:
Supported versions indicate that ENVI was either built on (the lowest version listed) or tested on that version. You can install and run ENVI on other versions that are binary-compatible with those listed.
ENVI Classic is also supported on Solaris 10 SPARC 64-bit systems.
The 64-bit Windows installer contains 32-bit binaries so that you can launch ENVI in 32-bit mode on 64-bit Windows systems. This ensures interoperability with ArcGIS®. You can find the 32-bit versions of ENVI in the Windows Start menu under Programs > ENVI 5.4 > ENVI for ArcGIS® and Programs > ENVI 5.4 > Tools > ENVI Classic 5.4 (32-bit).
An X-Windows manager is required for Macintosh. ENVI was tested using XQuartz 2.7.11.
For optimal performance, your video card should have a minimum of 1 GB RAM and should support OpenGL 2.0 or later. Also be sure to install the latest drivers for your video card.
ENVI Help requires an HTML5-compatible browser.
This software release includes the new and enhanced features listed below.
ENVI licensing is now managed through a third-party solution from Flexera Software. You obtain the license through a portal hosted by Flexera, then you can choose to activate the license on a license server or on an individual node-locked machine. Details about ENVI licensing are documented in a standalone topic outside of this Help.
By default, ENVI installs under a Harris directory. It was previously Exelis:
ENVI and IDL have separate installers. If IDL and ENVI are both installed on the same system, the Help application contains the help for both products.
ENVI supports the following sensors and data types:
Use File > Open to open MODIS (HDF-EOS), ASTER (HDF-EOS), and EO-1 ALI and Hyperion (HDF4) files. In previous versions, you had to use the File > Open As > Optical Sensors > sensor type menu option.
Dataset Browser
The Dataset Browser was redesigned to let you easily build new ENVI rasters that contain a combination of scientific data, attributes, and latitude/longitude information from HDF and NetCDF files. Use the File > Open As > Scientific Formats > format menu option to access the Dataset Browser. Here are some other updates:
The Generate Point Clouds and DSM by Dense Image Matching tool will now generate digital surface models (DSMs) in TIFF format, in addition to point clouds. This tool is part of the ENVI Photogrammetry Module and requires a separate license and installation of that module. This tool runs on Windows 64-bit platforms only.
Use the RPC Orthorectification Using DSM from Dense Image Matching tool to perform RPC orthorectification using a digital surface model (DSM). The DSM is generated from two or more images taken from different view points. It is used as the terrain source to orthorectify the first raster in the input rasters. This tool is part of the ENVI Photogrammetry Module and requires a separate license and installation of that module. This tool runs on Windows 64-bit platforms only.
The RPC Orthorectification Using Reference Image tool was updated to include a new parameter: Output Pixel Size in the X and Y direction, in meters. The default value is derived from the pixel size of the input image.
Use the Edit Classification Image tool to reassign classes in classification images. You can also use this tool with the results of viewshed analysis or thematic change detection.
The Color Point Cloud tool uses red/green/blue (RGB) data from a raster to colorize a LAS file of the same location. Each point of the point cloud receives the RGB value of the raster pixel that has the same location.
The Image Registration workflow has been updated as follows:
Use the Dice Raster tools to separate a raster into tiles based on tile count, distance, pixel count, or a vector shapefile. The Dice Raster tools are in the ENVI Toolbox under Raster Management > Raster Dicer.
The Calculate Cloud Mask Using Fmask tool was redesigned and simplified from the previous version. You no longer have to calibrate the imagery or create a layer stack before adding the imagery to the tool. It automatically calibrates the imagery and determines the appropriate multispectral, thermal, and cirrus bands to use in creating a cloud mask. It currently supports the following sensors:
The Normalized Difference Snow Index (NDSI) was updated to use any green band ranging from 0.5 to 0.6 µm. The NDSI is based on the following references:
Hall, D., G. Riggs, and V. Salomonson. "Development of Methods for Mapping Global Snow Cover Using Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer Data." Remote Sensing of Environment 54, No. 2 (1995): 127-140.
Salomonson, V., and I. Appel. "Estimating Fractional Snow Cover from MODIS Using the Normalized Difference Snow Index." Remote Sensing of Environment 89 (2004): 351-360.
Classification
The new ENVI classification framework provides a powerful and flexible way to classify data. You can create and train a classifier on one dataset and apply it to a similar dataset. Traditionally, classifiers are tied to one data source. With the new framework, you can train and evaluate the performance of a classifier once and apply it anywhere, including desktop or enterprise environments. Currently, the classification framework uses the ENVI application programming interface (API).
Here are some of the new features included in the classification framework:
See the "ENVI Classification" topic in ENVI Help for details. Also see the "New Classification Routines" section below.
Stretch Types and Histograms
Several updates were made to the ENVI stretch and histogram manipulation tools:
Viewshed Analysis
The Viewshed Analysis workflow and the corresponding API routine (ENVIViewshedRasterTask) were updated with new observer view constraints such as horizontal and vertical field of view, azimuth, and pitch. When combined with range and observer height (which were already in ENVI), these view constraints can more accurately model line-of-sight analyses.
ENVI now uses the Izraelevitz (2003) algorithm for viewshed analysis, which is an extension to the original Xdraw algorithm developed by Franklin et al. (1994). The Izraelevitz algorithm performs well in densely sampled terrain elevation models, and it is significantly faster than the radial interpolation method used in previous versions of ENVI.
References:
Franklin, W. R., C. K. Ray, and S. Mehta. Geometric Algorithms for Siting of Air Defense Missile Batteries, Technical Report DAAL03-86-D-0001 (1994), Battelle, Columbus Division, Columbus, OH, 129 p.
Izraelevitz, D. "A Fast Algorithm for Approximate Viewshed Computation." Photogrammetric Engineering & Remote Sensing 69, No. 7 (2003): 767-774.
The Viewshed Analysis tutorial uses new data files to show different ways to determine visibility from multiple view sources.
You can affix certain annotation items to the display so that they remain stationary while you zoom, pan, and rotate. These are called on-the-glass annotations, and they include text, symbols, classification legends, color bars, and scale bars.
The Create Pyramid if None Exists preference was changed to a drop-down list with more options. It offers better flexibility in choosing whether or not to create pyramid files with datasets that have a large number of bands (such as hyperspectral imagery).
Use the Icon Size preference to adjust the size of icons in the ENVI application. If it is set to Automatic (default), ENVI checks your system's default font size and resizes icons accordingly. Other choices are as follows:
You can add four new annotation types to the Image window view. These options are available from the Annotations drop-down menu in the toolbar:
The Description and/or the Coordinates string from the Feature Counting Tool table now display in the view.
If any layer in a view has a standard, RPC, or pseudo spatial reference, you can change the base projection of the view to any supported map projection. Right-click on the View layer in the Layer Manager and select Change Base Projection, then use the Select Coordinate System dialog to choose a projection.
If a view contains a standard, RPC, or pseudo projection, you can overlay grid lines in that view by clicking the Grid Lines button in the ENVI toolbar.
JPG2000 and NITF C8/M8 compressed rasters display and process faster.
A new "Custom Tasks" tutorial shows how to write a custom task that creates vegetation indices from Sentinel-2A Level-1C imagery. New example files are provided with the tutorial in the /examples/tasks/sentinelexample folder of the ENVI installation path.
/examples/tasks/sentinelexample
Use the envitaskengine executable to run ENVITasks in command-line environments. You can now plug ENVI analytics into applications in different programming languages or environments that share information. The environments must be able to handle standard streams (stdin, stdout, and stderr).
envitaskengine
stdin
stdout
stderr
Dehydrate and Hydrate methods were added to all virtual rasters and data type objects.
If you create a custom task that displays a dialog for selecting parameters for an ENVITask or custom API script, you can include a style sheet to define the individual user interface (UI) elements. Examples of UI elements include file selection boxes, color pickers, and text boxes.
The ENVIGLTRasterSpatialRef routine now acts as a constructor function, allowing you to create a new geographic lookup table (GLT) spatial reference in the ENVI API. You can then open an ENVIRaster using the GLT spatial reference. See the ENVIGLTRasterSpatialRef help topic for details.
New ENVITasks
New Classification ENVITasks
New Objects and Methods
New Classification Routines
Backward-Compatibility Issues
The IGNORE_VALIDATE property for ENVITasks has been deprecated and has no effect on task behavior. All task property values are validated when they are set, and they throw an error with bad input.
The ENVITask::Validate method has deprecated.
The CHOICE_LIST, MAX, and MIN properties of ENVITaskParameter may not be present when the TYPE property is set to certain values. Use the QueryProperty method to find out if these properties are available.
In custom task templates, the version key has changed to schema with the ENVI 5.4 release. Its only valid value is envitask 3.0. You can still specify version but its value must be 5.3.2 or earlier.
version
schema
envitask 3.0
5.3.2
For the TYPE property in ENVITaskParameter, one-element arrays are no longer converted to scalars (and vice-versa).
geo points
For information on new routines and features, see "What's New" in the IDL Help.
from idlpy import *
function MyRoutine, _REF_EXTRA=extra MySubroutine, _REF_EXTRA=extra MySubroutine, _EXTRA=extra end
To change the encoding for an individual file, open the file in an IDL editor, then select File > Properties. In the Resources dialog box, change the 6Text file encoding preference.
To change the default encoding preference for IDL, select Window > Preferences. In the Preferences dialog box, choose General > Workspace. Change the Text file encoding preference.
yum install libXp.x86_64
-Dorg.eclipse.swt.browser.DefaultType=mozilla.
© 2016 Exelis Visual Information Solutions, Inc., a subsidiary of Harris Corporation. All Rights Reserved. This information is not subject to the controls of the International Traffic in Arms Regulations (ITAR) or the Export Administration Regulations (EAR). However, this information may be restricted from transfer to various embargoed countries under U.S. laws and regulations.
Number of views (598)/Comments (0)
Below is a quick start guide to follow to download and activate your ENVI 5.4 and/or IDL 8.6 software once ... more »
Sign Up for News & Updates: Stay informed with the latest news, events, technologies and special offers.